Tiny Modernist Cross Stitch Blog

Cross Stitch Patterns for Modern Stitchers

DIY Cross Stitch Supply Kit

Leave a comment

If you are looking to put together a portable kit to carry your work-in-progress, here’s what you should have in it:

1. Use a zip-lock baggie or small make-up kit as your bag.

2. All the thread colors from the pattern you are working on, plus white and black thread (you always seem to need them). I wind my threads around the little plastic (or cardboard) thread holders you can buy at craft shops. It’s much easier to unwind lengths of thread than from the skeins they come in from the store.

3. Little scissors, or snips. The sharper the better. My kids once ran off with my snips so I tried using a pair of kiddie safety scissors. They just mangled the thread, and made it very difficult to thread the needle. So invest in a nice pair of small sharp scissors, and you won’t regret it!

4. An extra needle, tucked into the white or black thread. Some people use embroidery needles, which are short with a dull tip, but I like using sewing needles that are a little longer, thin, and sharp. They pierce the cloth better, and being skinny they fit between threads nicely. But try a few out to see what you prefer.

5. The pattern & Aida Cloth. Seems like a no-brainer, so I won’t go into much detail. I will say that I recently bought a 10 yard bolt of 14-count aida cloth, and just cut pieces off as I need them. So much easier than buying small pieces for every project. And it’s quite stiff, so I don’t need to use a hoop- which tends to leave permanent circular marks on the aida cloth. I can hold it flat, or roll one side slightly to stitch in the middle.

With this kit, you should be ready to x-stitch anywhere…even if it’s just in your living room🙂

Author: tinymodernist

Modern Cross Stitch Patterns

Leave a Reply

