Tiny Modernist Cross Stitch Blog

Cross Stitch Patterns for Modern Stitchers

Cross Stitchers are a different breed…

Leave a comment

Happy New Year!

To start off 2013, I thought it would be fun to share my fave stitching place. Most of the actual x-stitch design takes place on the computer, but when I stitch, I like to be comfortable! My favorite chair is a vintage Eames Rocker that we had re-covered in a black and cream checkerboard print a few years ago. It’s always been “my” chair- it started in the nursery when I had my first daughter and I have many memories of rocking her to sleep (and those early sleepless nights were mostly bearable on a comfy rocker). It’s now in the living room- and I like that it has such sentimental value.

Here is how my perfect evening would go: the kids go to sleep without a fuss (right!), then I can relax with a show, my latest x-stitch, and a nice cup of herbal tea. What is your favorite spot to stitch? Let me know!!

fave chair

PS I staged the photo a bit for your viewing pleasure! The little side table is usually an overflowing mess of cross stitch charts, floss, aida cloth, scissors, and my teacup🙂

Oh ya! I hope you enjoy this little rhyme. It gave me a few chuckles when I can across it in a vintage “Cross Stitch & Country Crafts” magazine this evening. (Yes, I have a small but *cool* collection of vintage cross stitch magazines from my grandmother- it pays to have crafty relatives I think).

The Cross-Stitchers Verse

Cross-Stitchers are a different breed-

The things we hope for, the things we need.

We wish for floss to finish that row.

We sometimes wish for our guests to go.

 

We wait all day for that time to be-

That special time- that time for ME.

Each needle is threaded, the colors arrayed,

Scissors and chart are carefully laid.

 

Now we relax, this is our pleasure-

Stitching this piece of soon-to-be-treasure.

We always ignore that mental warning-

Stitching all night makes it rough in the morning.

 

But time’s unimportant, we don’t heed clocks-

We just need floss and a sewing box.

Our project awaits us, now we proceed.

This must be heaven, what more could we need?

Author: tinymodernist

Modern Cross Stitch Patterns

Leave a Reply

